A community that is enriched, enlightened, and empowered.

Board of Trustees



ARLS Board of Trustees

The Library Board of Trustees is the governing body of the library system responsible for adopting policies necessary for the operation of the regional library system. There are nine volunteer trustees appointed by the respective City Council or Boards of Supervisors. Three trustees are appointed from Hopewell and three each from Prince George and Dinwiddie. Trustees serve four-year terms, with no more than two successive.

All Board of Trustees meetings are open to the public. Meetings are on the third Tuesday and begin at 2:00 PM. Scheduled meetings are as follows:

  • July 19, 2016 Hopewell
  • August NO MEETING
  • September 20, 2016 McKenney
  • October 18, 2016 Burrowsville
  • November NO MEETING
  • December 6, 2016 Dinwiddie
  • January 17, 2017 McKenney
  • February 21, 2017 Prince George
  • March 21, 2017 Hopewell
  • April 18, 2017 McKenney
  • May 16, 2017 Rohoic
  • June 20, 2017 Disputanta

Recent Board Reports:

Contact the Board of Trustees

209 E. Cawson St
Hopewell, VA 23860

Current Board of Trustees:

  • Doris Gallup, Prince George
  • Mary Benjamin, Dinwiddie
  • Martha Sykes, Dinwiddie
  • Libbie Dragoo, Hopewell
  • Bertha Judge, Prince George
  • Fran Halupka, Hopewell
  • Pamela Tuggle, Prince George
  • Dr. Jacqueline Shepperson, Hopewell
  • Sharon Bonner Yates, Dinwiddie