About

Mission Statement

The Appomattox Regional Library System will provide services and programs to the communities it serves through support of life-long learning, general information, and the exchange of ideas with effective use of traditional library resources and emerging technology.

About Our Library System

Library service began in the Hopewell - Prince George area in 1930 when Thomas B. Robertson established a Library Association for persons interested in forming a library. In 1931, the city formally took over operation of the library, with Mrs. Maude Langhorne Nelson as its first librarian. The John Randolph Library, as it was then known, was located in the State Planters Bank Building (now the United Virginia Bank). In 1957, the library was moved to the annex of the Municipal Building and the name was changed to honor the first librarian, Maude Langhorne Nelson.

In 1974, Prince George and Dinwiddie Counties joined the City of Hopewell to form the Appomattox Regional Library. The name of our library was chosen because the Appomattox River runs through each of the three localities which we serve.

Documents

ARLS_FY17-21Strategic Plan Modified - 3-29-17

COVID-19

COVID-19 UPDATES Update: August 3, 2020 ARLS continues to open library locations with modified hours and safety protocols. The Prince George Library will reopen August 3rd. Additional locations will be opened as appropriate safety measures are in place. You can still take part in curbside pickup until an hour before the library closes. Prince George's extension is 2970 Prince George...

View page »

Feedback

View page »

Policies

ARLS Policies Collection Development Public Services Policy Privacy Copyright ALA Statements and Policies Library Bill of Rights Intellectual Freedom statement Freedom to Read Photo/Video Release Statement: By attending ARLS, or ARLS co-sponsored classes or events, at any location, the attendee agrees that: ARLS shall have the unrestricted right and license to use his or her image, likeness, name, voice, comment,...

View page »

Board of Trustees

The Library Board of Trustees is the governing body of the library system responsible for adopting policies necessary for the operation of the regional library system. There are nine volunteer trustees appointed by the respective City Council or Boards of Supervisors. Three trustees are appointed from Hopewell and three each from Prince George and Dinwiddie. Trustees serve four-year terms, with...

View page »

Staff Directory

Regional Library Director Brian Manning bmanning@arls.org (804) 458-6329 x2501 Assistant Director Chris Wiegard cwiegard@arls.org (804) 458-6329 x1007 Branch Operations Manager Ginger Mauler gmauler@arls.org (804) 458-6329 x 2014 Administrative and Personnel Services Manager Nicole Coleman ncoleman@arls.org (804) 458-6329 x2004 Volunteer Coordinator Megan Kitchen mkitchen@arls.org (804) 458-6329 x2001 Local Historian  Jeanie Langford jlangford@arls.org (804) 458-6329 x2008 Digital Services Librarian Anne Rappe-Epperson arappe-epperson@arls.org (804) 458-6329...

View page »

Employment

We currently do not have any openings at this time. Please check back to this page for updates. Any questions please email jobs@arls.org or call 804-458-6329 ext. 2004    

View page »

Closing Schedule

2020 Holiday Calendar 1-Jan New Year’s Day Library Closed 20-Jan Martin Luther King Jr. Day Library Closed 17-Feb Presidents Day Library Closed 25-May Memorial Day Library Closed 3- Jul Independence Day Observed Library Closed 4-Jul Independence Day Library Closed 7-Sep Labor Day Library Closed 12-Oct Columbus Day Library Closed 3-Nov Election Day Library Closed 11-Nov Veterans Day Library Closed 25-Nov...

View page »

Contact Us

Telephone: (804) 458-6329 Email: admin@arls.org Mail: 209 E Cawson St, Hopewell, VA 23860

View page »