A community that is enriched, enlightened, and empowered.

About

Mission Statement

The Appomattox Regional Library System will provide services and programs to the communities it serves through support of life-long learning, general information, and the exchange of ideas with effective use of traditional library resources and emerging technology.

About Our Library System

Library service began in the Hopewell - Prince George area in 1930 when Thomas B. Robertson established a Library Association for persons interested in forming a library. In 1931, the city formally took over operation of the library, with Mrs. Maude Langhorne Nelson as its first librarian. The John Randolph Library, as it was then known, was located in the State Planters Bank Building (now the United Virginia Bank). In 1957, the library was moved to the annex of the Municipal Building and the name was changed to honor the first librarian, Maude Langhorne Nelson.

In 1974, Prince George and Dinwiddie Counties joined the City of Hopewell to form the Appomattox Regional Library. The name of our library was chosen because the Appomattox River runs through each of the three localities which we serve.

Documents

ARLS_FY17-21Strategic Plan Modified - 3-29-17

Policies

ARLS Policies Collection Development Public Services Policy Privacy Copyright ALA Statements and Policies Library Bill of Rights Intellectual Freedom statement Freedom to Read

View page »

Board of Trustees

    ARLS Board of Trustees The Library Board of Trustees is the governing body of the library system responsible for adopting policies necessary for the operation of the regional library system. There are nine volunteer trustees appointed by the respective City Council or Boards of Supervisors. Three trustees are appointed from Hopewell and three each from Prince George and...

View page »

Staff Directory

Regional Library Director Brian Manning bmanning@arls.org (804) 458-6329 x2501 Assistant Director Chris Wiegard cwiegard@arls.org (804) 458-6329 x1007 Branch Operations Manager Ginger Mauler gmauler@arls.org (804) 458-6329 x 2014 Administrative and Personnel Services Manager Nicole Coleman ncoleman@arls.org (804) 458-6329 x2004 Volunteer Coordinator Jan Rowley jrowley@arls.org (804) 458-6329 x2001 Local Historian  Jeanie Langford jlangford@arls.org (804) 458-6329 x2008 Smart Beginnings Coalition Coordinator Katie Sloan ksloan@arls.org (804)...

View page »

Employment

Library Assistant I: Appomattox Regional Library System has an opening for a Part-Time Library Assistant I. The position closes on November 1, 2017 at 5:00 pm. To apply please send resume and application to jobs@arls.org. Please click on the link for the job description to learn about the location and hours. Library Associate 1.PG.10.17 ARLS-Employment-Application-20111213 (1)   Youth Services Assistant II:...

View page »

Closing Schedule

Library Closing Schedule The following holidays are observed by the library system: New Year’s Day January 1 Library Closed Lee-Jackson Day Friday before 3rd Monday in January Library Open M.L. King Day 3rd Monday in January Library Closed Presidents’ Day Third Monday in February Library Closed Memorial Day Last Monday in May Library Closed Independence Day July 4th Library Closed...

View page »

Newsletter

Welcome to the Appomattox Regional newsletter sign up page. We are glad that you are interested in learning more about the events and programs offered by the library. We assure you that we will not share your contact with anyone and will not spam you. The newsletter that you receive when you sign up will be filled with information about...

View page »

Contact Us

Telephone: (804) 458-6329 Email: admin@arls.org Mail: 209 E Cawson St, Hopewell, VA 23860

View page »